A few things I am thankful for.

Yesterday was Thanksgiving day here in America. I honestly think that people here in the good old USA have forgotten what Thanksgiving is about. With all the hype about black Friday and shopping. Places used to be closed so they could be home with their family’s. Now days it’s all about getting the dollar.

This year my kids that live out-of-town could not make it here for Thanksgiving. My one son who lives here is a Fireman and was supposed to have worked but he had to call in sick. It rained all day yesterday, so we pretty much stayed indoors all day. My son did call and asked if I could take the part of Thanksgiving dinner which he was supposed to take to work in for him. I told him of course we would, and that it would give me a chance to tell his work buddy’s at the fire station a big thank you for what they do for the people in Amarillo to keep us safe.

We had a niece in town visiting their daughter for Thanksgiving. She had contacted me and said they would love to see us. We do not get to see them all that often so we jumped at the chance. It was so good to see her and her sweet family. The rain was going to turn to freezing rain after dark and they had decided to drive back homeΒ to Oklahoma before it started freezing for this system is supposed to last through part of the weekend.

So I am thankful for my family, my home, my country, for all the first responders, our military personnel at home and abroad helping keep us safe. And most of all my God and savior for all he has done for me and my family.

36 thoughts on “A few things I am thankful for.

  1. You are absolutely right in what you say. Perhaps we should all take a little time out to think what things are really important in life and to think how grateful we should be for them. We fall into the stupid error of taking home and family for granted, and instead worrying about our car or fridge or computer. We need to rethink our views and realise that, as somebody once said, “All you need is love”. Not for earthly possessions, but for family and our fellow man.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thankful for your thoughtful post!
    It seems that all of the holidays have been slowly converted into a focus on buying more “things.” Not good.
    Let me take this opportunity to wish you a very Merry Christmas.
    Peace and love always.
    Mary

    Like

  3. I’ve been a keen follower of your website for some time now, but I’ve been a little shy to share. So, here goes: A year ago I was alone, I had a job, my own small apartment and a few friends. In one year, I have to be thankful for my beautiful wife, we are expecting our first baby on February 6th, I am moving to Minnesota – I work as a Phlebotomist and in blood sciences in pathology in England. I really love my job, but there is no love greater than your wife and your child. And when I hold that little girl, our girl for the first time, and we look into each others eyes, you realize that the problems of this world can be solved. Thank you for your constant wisdom, love and support for everybody who visits this site. You give me strength, from your posts and hope from the people who consistently comment on this wonderful blog. Thank you. Rich. Happy New Year, you deserve every happiness and good fortune. PS, we’ve been favouriting our sites for some time and I don’t know your name! – a little embarrassment on my part.

    Like

Thank you for your comment

