45 years ago. Part 2 03/17/1970

Ce at 4 weeks

The actual picture I received, my first look at her

My ship left Pearl Harbor right after sun rise, going through the narrow channel and out too open waters. It was a beautiful day and we all were getting into our routine of workday and standing or watches in four hour shifts. I knew this was St Patrick day March 17th but I gave no thought about it being a special day in my life. I cant remember the exact time that I received the message but I was paged over the ships intercom to report to the radio shop on the double. I made my way through the passageway and up the three steep stairs too the deck that the radio shack was on.

When I arrived at the radio shack doorway the radio operator said you Harbin? I said yes, he had this grin on his face and he said sign here, he noticed I had this confused look on my face wondering what was this all about. He gave me a telegram from the Red Cross saying congratulations I was the proud farther of a baby girl. I was so excited I told him thank you. As I stood there reading how big she was and that she was healthy, I thought back to the phone call that I had made the night before and the way Charlotte was sounding on the phone. She was in labor but she didn’t tell me because she did not want me to worry about her.

Several weeks had passed since I had received the news about my daughter being born. Finley we were at a port where the mail could catch up to us and sure enough I received a letter from home, there was a picture of my new daughter so I finely got to see what she looked like. Charlotte P1050603told me in the letter that she was sorry for not telling me that she was in labor, but she knew I had enough on my mind with us being so far apart and she just did not want me to be worried on how she and the baby were doing. Now every one knows how old she is. Charlotte told me that CeAnne would be mad at me by telling everyone how old she was. But I have been teasing her that she was 50 or even older than that, but now that I have told her real age maybe she want be to mad at me. Happy birthday to mt sweet St Paddy days baby.

32 thoughts on “45 years ago. Part 2 03/17/1970

    • It is always neat to shear her birthday with her, But I am in trouble because I told how old she is. Ha Ha. It is her fault we are in Kansans she has been here for about ten years. We should be heading back to Texas this weekend. Have a blessed week. 😉 Jim

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The more I hear Jim about Charlotte, the more I wish I could sit down with her and have a cuppa and listen to her share her heart thoughts. What a beautiful caring women she is, I think I would have yelled, I’m hurting, I’m in Labor Help Me! but she thought of you first, no wonder you are so proud of her and I’m sure she is very proud of you too Jim.

    Christian Love – Anne

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you again Anne. I read both of your comments to Charlotte and she says to tell you that you are very sweet. Have a blessed day and week. She did tell me when I came home from the Navy that it hurt and she wassent going to have any more childern. Thank God I geuss she forgot about the pain though for we had Twin boys just 4 years later. 🙂 Jim

      Like

    • Your are welcome it was my pleasure. I know a lot of people did not want to go to Vietnam and I was one of them. But it was the best thing for me, it taught me respect and discipline that I think everyone should have. Have a blessed day and up coming week. 🙂 JIm

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this post so much and enjoy the way you told this story of your daughter’s birth and wife in labor, too. Blessings (belated happy birthday to each daughter early or late…) to your family!!

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for your comment

