45 Years ago. Part one.

I was on board the USS Monticello and we were in port at Pearl Harbor. We were on what was called liberty call, which simply means we did not have to work on the ship so we were free to leave the ship and go sight-seeing. Honolulu is a beautiful island so a few of us rented what is called a Volkswagen dune buggy to drive around and see the island. This was our last day before leaving to head back toward Vietnam. It was starting to get late and we were kind of lost. It was getting closer to time that we had to be back to our ship. We made it back in time so just before I boarded the ship I made a long distance call back to Texas, I was supposed to have called Charlotte earlier than this. It took a little bit before she answered the phone and when she did it sounded like I had woke her up. I had forgotten that there was a 5 hour difference in the time. This has been 45 years ago so I do not remember the exact time it was, I am thinking it was like 9:00 pm HI. time which would have made it 2:00 am Texas time. I noticed that she was keeping the conversation short so after a bit I told her I had to get back aboard ship so we said our goodbyes. I was thinking that i must of hurt her feelings and that she was mad at me. I will finish this tomorrow in part two and you will find out why Charlotte was acting the way she was.

2 thoughts on “45 Years ago. Part one.

Thank you for your comment

