Birth and death of USS Monticello LSD 35

She was a Thompson Class Ship her Keel was laid on my birthday in 1955 I was nine years old. She was launched August 10 1956. Commissioned in March oMo boat being launchedf 1947. She wJim EN 2as built: by Ingalls Shipbuilding, Pascagoula, Miss.

I served on board from 1968-1970. Even though I was already married to Charlotte and I missed her every secondΒ that I was gone. I did enjoy serving on this ship.though I could not have asked for better officers and crew mates. I was able to see parts of the world that I would never have seen if it was not for the Navy. Even though I never had to see any of the fighting on land I lost some friends there in Vietnam. We hauled a lot of troops and their equipment in and out of there. The Mo boat as we called her had a crew 18 officers and 330 men and we could carry 330 troops plus their equipment.

The Monticello was decommissioned in September of 1985 and she was taken out and sunk in July of 2010 off the coast of Kauai HI. She was used as a target and was sunk after being hit by twoΒ Harpoon missiles. FromΒ the Monticello being fired upon to be sunk. Monticello before she was sent to the bottom of the ocean.HMCS ALGONQUIN (DDG 283). I was lucky enough to get a peace of the helo platform deck after they had stripped her down to be sunk.

26 thoughts on “Birth and death of USS Monticello LSD 35

    • That is so true, but one thing that helps is the reunion of the men who served on her. We meet every other year. Even though we are getting older and fewer it is just so great to see them and hash over those days when we were put together as family. πŸ™‚ Jim

      Like

  1. I sang the National Anthem at the commissioning of the LHD2 USS Essex, in 1992. I had never been to a commissioning before and I was impressed watching the ship “come alive.” My husband tells me that watching a decommissioning is very sad, but I have never seen one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have never been to a commissioning or a decommissioning of a ship ether. But I did serve on board the USS Monticello LSD 35 and even though it has been almost 48 years ago it was sad to hear of her fate. and to see pictures of her just before she was sunk. I would have loved to have been able hear you sing at the Essex commissioning. I get goose bumps every time I hear the National Anthem. Have a blessed rest of the weekend and upcoming week. πŸ™‚ Jim

      Like

Thank you for your comment

