What a week

Charlotte and I were set up to have a colonoscopy this week. Last Sunday Charlotte was first so she spent all that day on a liquid diet. It also started raining that morning with the temp hovering around freezing. By the time we left for church it was getting icy. It started snowing while we were in church, we got out of church around eleven o clock and we had an inch or so on the ground. We had light flurries off and on all day. She had to drink that nasty clean your innards out stuff that evening. She was up about 3:30 Monday morning to finish drinking the stuff. We had to be up at the hospital by 6:30, it was still snowing so we left early. The road was not to bad because there had not been much traffic on them. After she had the procedure the doctor said that ever thing looked good, We left the hospital around 10: am. The snow had picked up, it was snowing so hard you could not see more that a couple hundred yards. We just took it easy getting home. Charlotte was pretty crazy from the anesthetic and I had a blast teasing her about all she did.

It warmed up and melted off Tuesday and Wednesday that’s what is great about the Texas panhandle Snow it does not hang around for to long. Thursday was my turn to be on the liquid diet, and drink the nasty stuff. You might have guessed by now it started snowing Thursday and continued on Friday. I drove to the Hospital the roads were a little worse than they were Last Sunday but we made it just fine. All the nurses was asking if we did not get enough when we were here before, so I just told them, why should Charlotte have all the fun. Here again every thing was great. Again it was around 10 am and Β Charlotte had to drive me home this time. She did a great job and did not slide once. She had told me that she could drive in this stuff and I guess so for she did a fine job. She just did not understand why the anesthetic did not affect me the way it did her. I told her the only thing I could think of is that I have had lots of surgery’s and maybe I am used to the stuff. Here it is Saturday and we still have snow on the ground but it is hard for it to melt off when it is still 16 degrees outside. But the roads are great as long as you take it easy and we will be able to make to church again tomorrow.

32 thoughts on “What a week

    • Thank you Luanne. Arizona would be nice but I also am glad I am not in Michigan our any place up north, to cold and snowy for me. One thing nice about the Texas Panhandle is wait a day and the weather will change, we do need the moisture though. πŸ™‚ Jim

      Like

    • Well think you for the double applause. It is a little unnerving driving in snow and ice, you just have to go slow and take it easy, and definitely keep your eye out for the other yo yo driving fast. As for the colonoscopy it is not bad the worse part is stuff you have to do to clean out your system. Have a blessed week. πŸ™‚ JIm

      Like

  1. I hope all went well for you both! In front of my house the sun never hits it so when we get snow or rain and the temps are cold, it stays frozen. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Jackie. We both received a clean bill of health and as far as the snow it only stayed on the ground for a couple of days. That is what is nice about the Texas panhandle the snow does not last all that long. Have a blessed day. πŸ™‚ Jim

      Liked by 2 people

      • I’m glad you both got a clean bill of health; those colonoscopy preps are rough but they can save your life.

        I once lived in Harker Heights near Ft. Hood and I remember wearing short sleeves in December. We got an ice storm once and the first thing to happen was young people getting on the highway to do donuts; there was a record number of fender benders from the lack of experience with ice. Texas has some beautiful areas, especially in the panhandle.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Most people here know and understand how to drive in it. Now as for the ones south of us they do not see snow and ice that much so they defiantly do not know how to drive in it. I remember when I was teaching my twins to drive in snow and Ice. I took them to our churches parking lot and let them drive. Showed them what happens when you slam on the breaks or when you try to turn a corner to fast. πŸ™‚ Jim

        Liked by 2 people

Thank you for your comment

