Bringing back great Memories

I had a second cousin go home to be with the Lord Last Sunday. Danny,Danny Ray Clark John and my self grew up in Borger Texas. John is my first cousin and was Danny’s uncle. The funeral was at 2:00 pm today 11/26/2014 so I went by and picked up John and we drove the hour from Amarillo to Borger, and then to Stinnett Texas where he was buried. We visited about how long it had been since we were in Borger. As we drove through town we would reminisce about different land marks and how some were still there and some were gone. Going through the old neighborhood we would remember as kids how the three of us would play in the old creek bed.

I am only two years older than Danny Ray, but I remember one Saturday he came to my house and told me that their were some kids in the park that was picking on him and wanted me to go with him and run them off.. I think that I was around 12 or so and I have always been big. I have never been much of a fighter but I just couldn’t let him down. Thank goodness when we got to the park the kids that were picking on him were gone so we had a good time playing.

After growing up I tried to stay in touch with Danny, John had moved to Oklahoma, I had moved to Amarillo and Danny was in Borger. He worked for the Borger Fire Department. I remember the wife and I went to Borger visiting my sister we had not been there long when we heard that some rail cars were on fire. One of the tank cars blew and Danny was close enough that it blew him about a block away. I might not be completely right on that but that is what I remember. We went up to the Borger Hospital to check on him. We met his wife who was pregnant with their first child. We stayed with her until we got the news that he was going to be alright. We have been out of touch for several years. I met Danny’s daughter today the one who had not been born yet back when he was in the hospital all those years ago.

I just wanted to write some good memories of him to pay tribute to him. He will be truly missed here on earth but I know their has been a big reunion in Heaven.

26 thoughts on “Bringing back great Memories

  1. My deepest condolences… (you look a lot alike, from that little picture you posted above). And even though in mourning I hope you had a relaxing Thanksgiving. Take care!

    Like

    • Had a great Thanksgiving and Thank you for reading and your condolences. Yes people have told us that we looked alike. His grandmother and my dad were brother and sisters. Have a blessed week. Jim πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much Jim for following my blog and being supportive of everything I say and do. It’s such a blessing to feel that I can express myself in any way I choose and know and feel that it is welcome and it is being received. Kindly, Harlon

    Like

Thank you for your comment

