Forty Nine years with the Love of my life

our weddingSunday August 22nd 1965 It was a hot summer day. I haven’t seen Charlotte since around 11:59 the night before. She told me that it was bad luck to see the bride on the day of the wedding before the ceremony starts. After the ceremony we had the reception across the street at her folks house. It was raining very hard and we all got soaked running across to their front door. I felt sorry for Charlotte’s mom though for while we were all there lighting struck the house and knocked out the kitchen stove, luckily there was no fire. It does just seam like it was yesterday to me, for her it probably feels like 100 years. We have had such fun together all these years. She is my lover and P1090783best friend. I tell her daily that I love her. I tease her that she married me for my money, which she has yet to see. Also she needed a strong man to carry her cello for her, I always asked her why couldn’t she play something small like a violin.Β The Lord has truly looked over me and my family.Β It has been a wonderful 49 years,

44 thoughts on “Forty Nine years with the Love of my life

  1. I think Jim you had a great deal to do with the Lord’s looking over you πŸ™‚ Congratulations and I love the details you insert into your stories. I can just imagine the wedding party running across in the rain – can’t beat that if you tried πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. What a joy to have so many happy years together! Congratulations and blessings to you two! 49 years may be a little tricky for us, since Richard was nearing 46 when we married, but we’re going to give it a good try! Always great to have good examples like you ahead of us. πŸ™‚
    Kathryn

    Like

  3. magical! congratulations, I hope my wife and I enjoy as many years together as you two! Sian and I recently celebrated eight years of marriage (a couple for eleven years now). I sent Sian to the theatre with a pal to see the musical ‘Wicked’ for her anniversary present (which was a gift for both of us really as I had a few hours to write!), she liked it much more than the excuse and apology I got her last year hohowhat! hugs from baldy

    Like

    • Thank you for those sweet words. Congratulations to you two also. We have taken it just one day at a time keeping God in our lives treating each other with respect and love, we are each others best friend and lover. Wish you many many more wonderful years. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Jim

      Like

  4. I love your blog Mr. Harbin, it helps me when I feel homesick, and somehow just make me feel all is right in the world Congrats to you and your wife. and thanks, peace to you, Abby

    Like

    • Thank you and Happy Anniversary back to you. I truly feel what has helped us has been putting God first in our lives then being each others best friend. Always being there for each other take the time to listen to each other and we tell each other daily how much we love them. You can make it and God bless. πŸ™‚ Jim

      Like

  5. Congratulations to you and Charlotte on your Anniversary, you are very blessed to have each other and your Love for Charlotte is what keeps her beautiful, a wife reflects her Husbands Love like a dew drop glistening on a Rose.

    I must say though Harbin, I think it would have been wiser if you had seen Charlotte before the Wedding Superstition has a way of working in the reverse as you shared. Thankfully though one day does not add up to all the wonderful years you have shared together and no doubt there has been ups and downs but you have survived the Storms that life brings and continue to have a wonderful Marriage which is a Testimony of the power of Love .

    Thank you for your encouragement on our Blog it’s appreciated.

    Christian Love from us both – Anne

    Like

    • Thank you and you are so sweet. I was reading this to Charlotte and she says thank you also. She also loved what you said and she told me that this was from a real writer. God bless. Jim

      Like

Thank you for your comment

