Great Sadness

Less than a week ago I received a phone call from one of my nieces tellingSherri me her sister was in a bad motorcycle accident and that she will be needing sugary to repair one of her legs but they think every thing is going to be alright. I received another phone call saying that she had a stroke while they were doing an MRI and that she passed.

I have not seen some of these kids since her mother, my sister had passed away 2008, and some I have never seen. We decided that we were going to go to the funeral. My own personal feeling is that I do not even know these kids and that is no ones fault but my own. I have been so caught up in my own life with my kids that I guess that I left no room for others that lived so far away and some that even live close by. I am the only relative they have left on their mothers or grand mothers side,

Even though they were hurting over the loss of their mother, aunt,  and sister every one of them showed me love and how they appreciated my coming. I would like each and every one of them know that I do love them also and I am sorry for their loss. She was a very neat lady and I can tell that she taught all of her kids to have love and respect for each other.

52 thoughts on “Great Sadness

  1. Oh Jim.
    Perhaps you were not there as often as you would have liked….
    But I can tell in your writing that the love was and is there.
    I think that they all know that.
    Sigh.
    None of us can get back lost time.
    Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

  2. Uncle Jimmy, we all have and always will love you and aunt Charlotte, and all the kids, even though we don’t see each other very often and we do live so far apart.
    Yes, Sherri was a very neat, beautiful, kind ……..and many other wonderful things that describe her….. lady. We already miss her so very much and have all of our Memories of her, but now she is an Angel of God also, like Grandma, Mom, Beth, Aunt Judy, Grandpa, Dad and many others we miss. We will see them all again when it is our time to be called home.

    Like

    • I thank you Lacricia. It was so good to see every one but I hate the circumstances of it. I wished we could have all visited more but there just was not a place where we could all get together. I only was able to say hi to Dee thin I did not see him again. I love all of you also. Uncle Jim

      Like

  3. Very sad and such a loss, sorry to read that Jim. On the matter of not seeing them often or never that is such a common story with migrant families that are strewn across different continents… but still blood ties are strong and love is always there. May your niece rest in peace. Blessings

    Like

  4. I’m not pressing “like.” I’m so sorry about what happened. The door is now open for you to add loving and wonderful people to your life. Again, I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Like

    • Thank you and I am fine. Please remember her sister and two brothers plus her kids and grand kids for they are taking this very hard. Have a blessed day, weekend and up coming week. Jim

      Like

  5. Hey Uncle Jim, hope you all are doing well and your 4th was a fun one. Just sending out a “Love Y’all” and “God Bless”!!! Johnny and Angela are doing as ok as they can I guess. Johnny was on the road with his job all the time and got to see his mother a couple times a month. Angela lived with her so she is taking it a lot harder, but she is strong and has God in her heart. I still can’t believe I have lost both of my younger sisters now, but I still have my 2 brothers. Dee and I see each other at least once a week or at least talk on the phone every couple of days. We do keep in touch with Wayland every once in awhile too. He is for sure doing better than he used to be when he was younger. Thank God for that. Thanks again for coming and it was really great to see you and Aunt Charlotte again. You 2 look awesome and are very blessed. Huggggzzzz!!!

    Like

    • Thank you sweet lady. We continue to pray for you all every day. I hope and pray also that Kathie is doing well. As for Angela I friended her on FB the other day and so I keep up with her in that way. We had a wonderful 4th even though we just set at home. tell every one we love them also. God bless Y.all. Uncle Jim

      Like

  6. Jim,
    I just read your post. It’s a bit late, but I would like to add my condolences, as well. Thank you for sharing and for taking responsibility for not being more involved. We can all learn a lesson from you. At the same time, don’t be too hard on yourself as you have been actively involved in your children’s lives which is vital to their well-being. Bless you all.
    Michael

    Like

    • Thank you Michael. For you kind an uplifting words. I have found it is never to late to let someone know that you are thinking of them. Have a blessed day and week. Jim

      Like

    • Thank you for that comment. I do tend to give my self a guilt trip. I know I can not be every where and they have told me several times how they appreciated me being there. Have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

      • This is not original with me; it comes from the Steeljaw Scribe. It is a eulogy that says so much; a eulogy that I would like read when I pass on . . .

        “It has been said that in a world intricately and inexorably connected, individually, we seem to draw apart from one another. That those connections we have are tenuous, virtual and of little lasting substance or effect. Like spiderwebs on the wind, we connect and (temporarily) bond with whatever object we come in contact with, only to be pulled apart and float until the next object enters our space. We see this in our personal and professional relationships on a regular, daily basis. And yet, every now and then we are reminded of the ties that bind – that survive the immediacy of the moment no matter their outward, gossamer appearance; which bespeak a deeper level of common interest and shared values. We are reminded, if you will, that no man is indeed, an island.”

        I think it speaks for all of us.

        Like

Thank you for your comment

