A late phone call

The wife and I were watching the news and weather last night when the phone rang. It was somewhere around ten o’clock pm, and I noticed on the caller ID it was from our Houston kids. The wife answered it, I did not think any thing about it until I heard her voice change and thin I was wondering what has happened. I could tell she was talking with our son but still I had no ideal what was going on. All kinds of things was going on in my head wondering were they in a car wreck, has their old dog passed away, you know it so hard when you are only hearing one side of the conversation. Finley I heard her say something about our second grand son had broken Broken arm 1 Broken armhis arm. It gave me some relief, don’t get me wrong that was serious but it was better than what I was thinking. Come to find out he was on a skate board and fell, he broke his right arm in two places close to his wrist. I know he is going to be hurting awhile but he is young and he will heal, thank you Lord that it was not worse.

51 thoughts on “A late phone call

    • Yes he did hit his head but he must take after his grandpa because his head was fine. I have always been told that I was hard headed. Have a great day. Jim

      Like

    • If I know him he is already milking it all he can, especially with the ladies for he is 16 and has quiet a following already. Have a blessed day. 🙂 Jim

      Like

  1. What would childhood be without grazed elbows and knees, broken arms or leg, bumps, bruises…not much I say 🙂 it’s all part of being part of life 😀

    Like

    • You know that is very true. I was just two years older than he is when I received 11 broken bones in an auto accident. As a grandparent it hurts worse being 600 miles away from him and can’t be there to love on and spoil him. Jim

      Like

      • Know what you mean about the distance, Jim. And spoiling kids while teaching them decency and responsibility is the best, I say you can never go wrong by spoiling kids just as long as the other important lessons come 😀

        Like

      • He is a maw maws boy so it is bothering her a lot. We are going down in about three weeks for his brothers high school graduation so I thank that is the only thing keeping us from going down now. But I am sure while we are there he will get a lot of spoiling then and by then he should fell up to it. 🙂 Jim

        Like

  2. I hate late night phone calls because more often than not it isn’t pleasant news, thank The Lord it wasn’t more serious. He’s making memories already. I’m glad he’s fine. Have a great day!!!

    Like

  3. I really detest late phone calls. Before it is even answered I naturally think the worst. [past experience] My family is all gone now, but my better half’s parents are still alive and nearing 90, so NO late phone calls here please!

    Like

  4. Best wishes and prayers that the surgery will go well. Those phone calls can be heart-stopping but I join you in being grateful it was not worse. In the past 18 months I’ve gotten lots of practice in realizing things can almost always be worse than what they are. Thanks so much for your visits to my blog!

    Like

    • Yes you do. We heard fro them that he had to have a plate and 4 screws put in his arm to hold it in place, then he goes back in 9 months to have the plate removed. I am just glade that he is on the mend now. Have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

  5. Late phone calls, early phone calls gosh that is nerve racking. Thank God, it’s not his head. Here’s to a full recovery. Sending prayers towards your grandson.

    Like

    • Thank you so much we can use all the prayers you want to send this way. He had sugary last Monday they had to put a plate and four screws to hold it together until it heals. Has to go back in 9 months to have the plate removed.

      Like

    • Thank you and he did have to have sugary to put a plate and four screws in his arm to help it heal, and he will have to go back in 9 months to have the plate removed. But they did say he will have a complete recovery. We are praising the Lord for that. Have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

    • Thank you. He did have to have surgery on his arm to set the bones, thin they installed a plate with four screws to hold it in place until it heals. He will have to go back in 9 months to have the plate removed. Have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

      • Oi😭 hørtes skremmende ut. Mange gode klemmer og bønner til dere❤️ Ikke noe som er så skummelt når det skjer barna noe. Kjærlighet Lisa❤️

        Like

      • Thank you Lisa and yes it was scary but now that it is behind us he gets a big laugh from it and loves having all the girls baby him. Have a blessed day Jim 😀

        Like

    • Thank you. He is on the mend, he had to have surgery on his arm to have a plate and four screws put in to hold it together while it heals. Then in nine months he will have to have sugary again to have the plate removed. Have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

  6. My son recently broke his arm in two places too.Not nice but it healed perfectly and he’s back to his usual manic sports routine. Hope your grandson heals soon. What a relief it was nothing more serious!

    Like

Thank you for your comment

