Despite overwhelming odds

Thank you to all the veterans who have and are still serving our country.

Defeat Despair

“We salute the veterans and survivors of Pearl Harbor who inspire us still.  Despite overwhelming odds, they fought back heroically, inspiring our nation and putting us on the path to victory.  They are members of that Greatest Generation who overcame the Depression, crossed oceans and stormed the beaches to defeat fascism, and turned adversaries into our closest allies…They remind us that no challenge is too great when Americans stand as one.  All of us owe these men and women a profound debt of gratitude for the freedoms and standard of living we enjoy today.”
President Barack Obama

Jeff has very little to say about my blog, other than protesting when I tell him I’ve posted photo of him, or written about him.  However, I did read to him the blog I posted a couple of days ago, in which I talked about the parallels between fighting a war and…

View original post 161 more words

6 thoughts on “Despite overwhelming odds

    • I do love the way most people in the US remembers and tells or military, police, Firefighters, and EMS thank you for your service. For years I would not let any one know that I was a veteran because when I came home from Vietnam no said thank you because they thought that it was a useless war. But now days I wear a Vietnam veteran hat all the time and people will come up and tell me thank you plus it opens up conversation with other vets who fill they have been forgotten and I get the privilege to thank them and visit with them about what they went through. Thank you for your comment on this post even though I did re-blog it from another blogger. Also sorry about the long reply. Have a very blessed day and week. Jim

      Like

Thank you for your comment

