On the road again (A)

After staying a few days at my daughter’s home in Kansas we packed up the car and all three of us headed out. We had told our daughter about the Bridges of Madison County from when we took our trip in August of 2012 and she had told us that she would like to go up there some day. So we left Kansas drove up through Kansas City Mo. Headed north to Iowa. We stopped off at a couple of the covered bridges and then drove around in the town of Winterset Iowa where some of the bridges or located also this is the town where John Wayne was born.

Holliwell Bridge How did the chicken cross the river IMES Bridge P1090407 P1090420 P1090422 P1090432 P1090433 P1090435_edited-2 P1090438 P1090440 P1090441 P1090442 P1070415 John Wayne (The Duke) Birth Place Home

I am not responsible for any adds that might be put on this site. I was told that this was a free sight, but unless I pay 30.00 dollars a year WordPress will put advertisement on my site.

10 thoughts on “On the road again (A)

  1. @”the Bridges of Madison County…” I loved that movie! 🙂
    Thanx for dropping by my posts, have a great weekend and friendly greetings from Toulouse, France, “old Europe”… cheers! 🙂 Mélanie

    Like

    • Thank you and we have read the book and seen the move it was great. We read the book first and we were on a trip with my mother-in-law, my wife was reading out loud in the car so we could all hear it. I just wished I had a movie of my wife face when she got to the bedroom scean with her mom setting next to her. We have talked about coming to France for my wife’s dads folks came from there. We have not found out what part yet but we have been looking. Have a blessed day and thank you for reading my blog. Jim 🙂

      Like

  2. Winterset is where my mom lived before her dad bought a farm in St Charles (another bridge is there, too, but they moved it off the main road). I have pictures from 2001 when my mom and I made our last trip together back there so she could visit old friends and reminisce. We took pics of many of the old bridges. Not as many are still standing as there used to be when I was a kid. 😦

    Like

    • Thanks Karl. The bridges are beautiful even though there is graffiti all over the inside of them. There was only one you could drive through and even then you could tell it was sit up that way at the end of a road. We love that area and will go through there ever chance we get. Have a blessed day. Jim 🙂

      Like

Thank you for your comment

