Handicap Patrol.

Have you every parked in a handicap spot when you were not disabled? I have seen parking lots where there were no place to park except for the handicap parking spot. But that does not give you the right to park their, those spots or there for a reason and that is to let people with disabilities have a place to park, so that they do not have to walk so far. I have had bad knees for years but even so I would not park in a handicap spot because I did not have a handicap placard on my car. But it would always bother me when I would see someone pull into a handicap spot and run into the store or whatever, then I would see a handicap person have to park further away and then walk so far to the store. The Amarillo Police department has a Handicap patrol made up with volunteers; we are trained and then sworn in by a judicial judge. We are then authorized to go around town in a handicap patrol car and give out citations to the cars that do not have a placard or tag. It is quit expensive which you would thank would stop people from parking in these spots. So I would advise you not to park in one of these spots unless you have the proper tag or placard hanging on your mirror. Oh bye the way we do not get paid for this it is just to help give back for the handicap people and our community

.

45 thoughts on “Handicap Patrol.

    • Thank you, and yes we do. I know in some city’s the law enforcement officers have to take care of this which takes them away from other crimes. We have had the volunteers every since 1991 and our local police told us that it has freed them up. Have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

  1. What a great idea the handicap patrol car! We could do with that here in Sydney Australia – same problems with able people taking up disabled car parking spots. Just awful So, I (and probably many others) always call the parking ranger services to report on the spot when I notice a car parked where it should not be parked because of Disabled parking rules. I always give the Ranger my name etc – and you know, they often do come and issue the hefty fine which is over $400!

    Like

    • The police officer that trained me said back in 1991 when they first started this that he was not sure about having non police officers doing this but he said it is working out great. The first time ticket is $500 to $750, it is good to hear that even on the other side of the planet is working to correct the problem of handicap parking. Have a wonderful day. Jim

      Like

  2. this winds me up so much! I have disabled parental figures and friends who need to use the handicapped parking spaces but discover them occupied by perfectly capable, lazy git-bags all too often. Some people are so inconsiderate! Rant over, I hope this finds you well, pal. keep smiling 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow – what a great idea! I feel the same way you do, and I must admit to watching those who get out of their vehicles when parked in a handicapped spot to make sure they have a placard. I feel like if I ever parked in one, on the way home I’d probably get into an accident that required me to park in one from then on. No thanks!

    Like

    • Thank you Theresa for your comment. I know that not all towns and cities have an all Volunteer patrol, Amarillo Texas has had one since 1991. It would be nice if more city and or country’s had this for not only would it slow down people parking in these spots but it frees up the law enforcement to do other and more important work. We have noticed that where we make our presants know that the viloations have stoped. Have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

    • That would be a good ideal but I don’t think the store would let us. They get mad at us some times for writing people up in their parking lots, saying we are scaring away customers. Have a wonderful week. Jim

      Like

  4. We need people like you everywhere. I, myself, am disabled and do have a handicapped placard. I have several chronic invisible diseases and I’m not old, not too old anyway, but I hate it when people look at me like she doesn’t look handicapped. I’ve got my placard and the ID card they give you with it. Keep up the good work.

    Like

    • Thank you. I have fond that it also has it’s hard times though. We gave out a ticket the other day on a out of stat placard that had expired. Of course most of the times we never see the person driving the car, this car had Texas tags with an Oklahoma handy cap placard which again is okay except the placard was expired by several months so we wrote the ticket and be fore we finished the parking lot the man flagged us down to show us he was handicapped, he was a disabled veteran, we both felt bad that we had ticketed him but we told him sorry but the law is the law and we could not do any thing about that. But we were sure if he went down and renewed his placard that the ticket would be dropped. Hope you have a wonderful weekend. God bless. Jim

      Like

  5. Sworn in by a judicial judge? Wow, I’ve never heard of this but, from all of the comments you got, there must be a need for it. I occasionally shop at a store owned by another triplet parent (my triplets are teenagers) and in addition to the handicapped spots, the best parking spot sign says, “Reserved for triplet moms!” You know how hard it is to assemble the triplets stroller (which is so big it had to be assembled each time), get three babies out of car seats, buckle three babies into the stroller, try to get through the door of a store and actually get any shopping done? Let’s just say its not for the faint of heart or short of patience!

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment and yes we give out some times up to 10 citations in a 4 hour shift. Our twins are 40 years old now but I remember back when they were babies we had a side by side stroller and we two had problems getting through the doors and then getting around in the stores. have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

  6. Awesome! Even before I became wheelchair-bound, it bothered me when I saw perfectly healthy people using handicap spots. I would wonder how someone felt so entitled to do that.
    Now we have a big wheelchair van (with a lift) and many times all the handicap spots will be taken so my wife has to park in a regular spot and leave me in the van. It’s also frustrating when handicap people (who are not wheelchair users) park in spots meant for wheelchair vans when other handicap spots are available.
    I tell you what would help this situation; add a small sign under the handicap sign saying this spot is monitored by volunteer patrols. People park there because they know the police rarely check.
    Good job!

    Like

    • So sorry to hear that you have to be in a wheelchair and I know some people just do not think ahead when they park in these spots. But I do not know if a sign would work for they know we come around just about every day and if they see us coming they will hurry and pull out. Some times though we will go around a couple of blocks then go back and find them parked there. The sad thing is even the 500.00 dollar fine does not seem to deter them. So we just keep after them we make our presence known 7 days a week. Hope you have a wonder day and think you so much for reading and commenting on my blog. Jim

      Like

  7. A handicap patrol is much needed in our area! I think this is great idea because of the lack of sensitivity and fraud. Yes fraud. Many people obtain those handicap placards (used for temporary purposes), and take advantage of it.
    On the other hand, how will this patrol be able to determine who is truly handicap? In other words, not every one who claims to be disabled or parks in a disabled parking spot carriers an aiding/assisting device (canes, service dogs, wheel chairs, etc.)?
    Some disabilities are internal.
    Great article!

    Like

    • Thank you and yes it is hard and we do have problems knowing for sure if the person with the placard is truly in need of it. We do ask sometimes if the placard is for them and we sometimes get the answer that it is for some one that they just dropped off so we tell them that they can not park their with out the person that the placard belongs. Also we have Blue color for physical disabilities and red for some on having breathing or heart problems, also we keep an eye out for the expired placards, we give them a warning ticket for about a 6 week grace period and then start writing the real ticket which runs 507.00 dollars. We can’t get them all but we can make a difference. Our Police department was skeptical at first but now they thank us every day because it takes some load off of them and they are there for us in a hurry if we need them for some people do get pretty irate at us. We carry no weapon but we do have a police radio and can get help fast. You might talk with your city counsel, mayor, and police chef to see if they could get one started. Have a wonderful and blessed day and weekend. Jim

      Like

    • Thank you and yes people always say we were just running in and we weren’t going to be long. I also feel like what part of illegal do you not understand. Of course it wakes them up when they find that it cost them $507.00 to park there, that is the price of the parking ticket. Have a great and wonderful day- week. Jim

      Like

  8. I never have, no, but as convenient as it appears to be at the time, I imagine actually being handicapped and how difficult it would be for me to not be able to park there. That, simply, solves it for me. I like the sound of that patrol. It’s regrettable it’s necessary, but it’s good they are there (and being volunteers).

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment. It was getting so bad that the policemen just could not handle it plus their other duty’s so they formed the volunteer patrol to take that burden off of them.

      Like

      • Getting so bad the policemen couldn’t handle it? Damn that’s shame, real shame. I think they’re a wonderful little posse.

        Like

      • Actuality back in the late 90’s when the chef of police instigated the Ideal of a handicap patrol most of the police force did not like the Ideal of having civilians doing this job. But now every policeman we see tells us thank you for are service and that they will stand behind us if and when we need them. Have a great day and up coming week. Jim

        Like

Thank you for your comment

