48 Wonderful Years

our weddingThis a very special week and it comes every 12P1080753 months. It is 48 years this week and for me the day is August 22. The love of my life and best friend agreed to marry me and we said our, I does on August 22 1965. People say our honey moon lasted at least 20 years, well I have news for them in my opinion it is going on still. I have been retired now for about a year and a half and we are together pretty much 24-7 and we are having a wonderful time. When my wife reads this I want her to know that I love her just as much today as I did when we said our wedding vowels those few short years ago.

The reason this week is so special is my cousin John and his wife Nancy married the 20th of the same year and then came to Amarillo for our wedding. Charlotte’s cousin Richard who was my boss at the time was my best man and his wife Laverne was the maid of honor was married on the 22nd the year before. So I would like to take this time to wish them a happy 48th and 49th wedding anniversary.

47 thoughts on “48 Wonderful Years

  1. congratulations on 48 wonderful years (my wife and I just celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary, ten years together, on the 19th). I am always delighted to hear about people who are still in love after so many years. have a lovely anniversary. hugs from Baldy πŸ™‚

    Like

    • It is always so good to hear about couples who have stayed together threw thick and thin. Tell them congrats from us and thank you for your sweet comment.
      Have a blessed day and rest of the week.
      Jim

      Like

      • Yes I agree. I never hear of too many people still married for over 30 + yrs. It’s sad because now a days, my friends will be shocked when I tell them that my parents have been married for over 38 yrs. πŸ™‚

        Like

    • Thank you so much and I am one luck sailor for not only do I have a wonder wife, I also have a wonderful God. I am going back in on Friday the 13th to have another heart cath, and maybe another stent, but I am not worried for my God will be there with me and when I come out of it my sweet wife will be their also.
      Have a wonderful day and week.
      Jim

      Like

Thank you for your comment

