I was able to get a Little Info on my Parents.

We stopped by today to visit my uncle, he is 90 years young and is living inMom and dad a nursing home. While visiting the subject of my mom who is his sister and my dad came up. He was telling me how good of a cook my mother was and how she made wonderful cake and pies. He was saying how he and his wife my other uncle and his wife would come over to my house to have some deserts. Both of my parents are dead, dad has been gone for about 36 years and mom passed on about 10 years ago. Mom was 15 and dad was 25 when they were married, I asked my uncle how my folks met. He told me that Dawson’s were farmers and moved to Cordell Oklahoma from Texas to farm some land, and the Harbin’s were farmers and moved from Alabama and had a farm just a few miles away and they became friends. I asked my uncle if his mom and dad minded that my mother was married so young and he told me that they did not mind and that they felt he could take good care of her.

I just wish I had been interested in all this back when my folks were alive and I am very thankful that my uncle still has enough of his mind that he can remember this info. He is the only living relative that was around when my folks were young.

37 thoughts on “I was able to get a Little Info on my Parents.

  1. Thanks for sharing this…it’s so true that very often our personal history is often lost because when we’r young we just take things for granted. You’re fortunate to have your uncle who can still remember and fill things in for you…and your blog will be a treasure to your children and grandchildren some day.

    Like

  2. I was going to say too – it’s so great that you at least have your uncle around to tell you things that bring your parents’ lives come alive for moments. That is so precious.

    Like

    • Yes it is and he is a wonderful man. it is sad the reason he was moved here and that he was put into a home, but it is a blessing that we get to go visit him and bring him cookies that he loves. I just wish we had been closer to him when he was younger. Have a great day. Jim

      Like

    • I have a William Dawson who died in England in the early to mid 1700 but I do not know the exact date or what part. I also have the Harbin’s from Summer Set England and Blanford England from the mid 1400 to the late 1600- early 1700. Thank you for your comment and have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

  3. Having worked with college students 18-22, I cannot imagine being married at 15! Your Mom must have been a lovely, courageous young woman; I’m glad your parents were friends.

    Like

    • Thank you and I was the youngest of three kids and I had heard that she had a few miscarriages. I also know that they were best friends all their married life. Have a wonderful day. Jim

      Like

  4. I have nominated you for the Inner Peace Award. There are no rules, no list, no questions, no link back or no nomination unless you choose to do that. Just my thanks and admiration!
    Please visit my post to see the nomination:
    talesalongtheway.com/2013/07/22/inner-peace-award-and-bouquet-of-super-awards-with-no-rules/
    Namaste. . . Anne

    Like

  5. I’ve been trying to get my 88-year-old mom to tell me stories from her past, and have managed to glean a few interesting facts about my ancestors. i think it’s so important to keep these memories alive and pass them down. 🙂

    Like

    • I agree with you and I am trying, but just as many people do we wait till it is almost to late to retrieve such information. Have a great and blessed day. Jim

      Like

  6. Yes, it is something many people end up regretting… but now that you learned of your parents, you’ve documented it in your blog. Make sure you’re descendants know what’s here! Dig some more!

    Like

  7. Wonderful that your Uncle is still alive and able to pass on his memories… What a delightful couple your parents make 🙂 …
    My mum was 16 when she married my dad, who was 29, in 1942… and weren’t able to marry until she turned 16 here in South Australia. I’m interested in knowing what age the law allows folks to marry in your “neck of the woods” and if it’s changed over the years… Cheerio for now. Catherine

    Like

    • I believe you have to be over eighteen to get married without your parents signature. And as far as I know they haven’t changed that part of the law. It would be so nice if they had the same age for all the different rules, instead you have to know 16 for drivers license, 18 for getting married, 21 for drinking alcohol, and I think 19 for joining the military and so on. My folks were married in 1935. Thank you for your comments and it is very interesting the way these things are so different in different parts of the world. Jim

      Like

  8. I can think of all kinds of things I would like to ask my parents now. Wish I would have thought of the questions before my dad passed away and my mom developed severe memory problems.

    So happy for you that you were able to get that information from your uncle!

    Like

    • Thank you, It is a shame that we do not think about these things back when we had them with us. I know my mom lived for several years after dad passed but she had a stroke and could not talk the last 16 years of her life. Both of my siblings have passed also so I cant ask them either. I am sorry about your mom having memory problams and we will keep you and your mom in our prayers. Have a blessed day. Jim

      Like

  9. Hi Jim,
    I’m glad I read this post. I’ve asked my folks to write down their stories but I guess there were issues that stopped them from doing it (they’re separated now unfortunately). I never thought of doing a video interview like one of your readers commented. I think that’s a great idea and would probably be better than writing stuff down, my parents don’t seem inclined to do it. It’s a good thing you’re so diligent with sharing your stories on the blog. Thanks again for the inspiration and blessings to you and your family.
    Mary

    Like

    • Thank you Mary and I realize how much trouble we are having getting info on both of our parents. This made me decide to do something for our kids so even though they haven’t asked us a lot of questions they will be able to get the information a lot easier than Charlotte and I. I have almost waited to long my self for I only have one uncle left to ask questions and he is 91 years old. God bless. Jim

      Like

Thank you for your comment

