Used old books

I have no idea on what to do with these old books? My farther in-law was a self learned man and bought books of all kinds to read. When he passed away back in 1967 we inherited well over 200 books. We kept them in or house for years even though we did not have room for them, then when we moved to a house with a garage that is where they have been for the last 25 years. We have asked all of our kids and Charlotte’s brother and their family and no one seems to want them. So I am going to try to sell them, but I have no ideal where or how to get started. Any ideals?

34 thoughts on “Used old books

  1. Do NOT take them to a used bookstore. You will get $5 for all of them. You can look the books up on line. Some may be valuable. You just never know. Out of 200 books there might be something wonderful among them. Even a first edition. It may take time but I advise you to look each book up and check the year it was published and you can find out how much they are worth. Good luck. I hope you find something valuable among your treasures.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment and yes I have thought about that also but like you I have never sold any thing on E-bay myself and I guess the unknown about what to do is what stopping me from trying. It seems the older I get the more paranoid I get about doing these things.

      Like

  2. Sometimes old books are just that… old books. But the suggestion HITANDRUN1964 gave you is good. But as for old text and reference, it really depends on the topic, publishing house, etc. Of course, the condition of the books is a contributing factor as well.

    You could check on CRAIG’S LIST and see if there are any book collectors in your area and/or post that you have some old books for sale (listing complete sets, etc.)

    Like

    • Thank you, and yes I feel that they are just old books and I have no idea if they are worth any thing. I feel the only way that they would be worth anything is if some body wants them.

      Like

      • I did have the titles and author written down until my old computer crashed and I lost it. I have a new laptop now so I guess I need to go through them again. I do have some fiction, and nonfiction, books, I will go through them again and let you know.

        Like

  3. I agree with everything that’s been said and now, being more informed , I do gnash my teeth re: all those discarded books 😦
    Whilst making your list, I suggest you record: Title, Author, Publisher, Date of publication and ISBN No. all of which is printed in the front of each book. This is important because First Editions are far more valuable… as my youngest son (who has a Doctorate in Literature) has taught me 🙂 Signed by the author flies it sky high. Condition is important too… but even some first editions in poor condition bring in an amazing price.
    I also agree that EBay is a good place to go. Although I’ve never sold anything there I (like others) have paid good/ lots of money for a desired object. I keep advising my lovely children that, although many of my everyday objects are not appealing to them they are worth a lot of dosh (money) on EBay 🙂
    Of course there may be nothing of great value in your collection but it’d be a shame to let anything go without it realising it’s worth.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your advise, I have started making a data sheet in Excel and after I get them all in the data base I will go on line and see if I can find out what if any that they might be worth. Have a blessed day

      Like

    • Thank you, I hope when I start looking them up that it might give me a hint on what is good condition. First I am going to go through them and list them in a data base. Have a blessed day

      Like

  4. There’s Craigslist, if you consider giving them away(or selling), but what didn’t escape my notice is your mention of having a garage now. How about a garage sale, or take a stall at a flea-market – I’m sure you have many things to display!

    Like

  5. Well, as a gift, you can perhaps give them to a nursing home facility or such like. You can always get a tax write-off for doing things like that. Also, a book or two given as a present to a good friend/relative who you know is an avid reader, just may enjoy it. You might say something like, “I was just thinking about you,” or give the book(s) to them on a special occasion. 😊

    ~Your neighbor

    Like

  6. Wish I had the money to buy them, but if you go on-line, you can find reputable book dealers that will come to your home and possibly take them.

    Like

    • Thank you I have thought about E-bay but I guess it is the unknown that is stopping me, you know not knowing what to do to get started, what will it cost to join, what do I have to do to mail them, should I charge the person buying the cost of mailing, so on and so forth. I guess the older I get the more I let these things bother me. Oh so much for me babbling God bless you and have a good day.

      Like

    • I know what you mean I also have a few 78 record, some of Bing Crosby, Michael Jackson and some Classical peaces but since I do not have a record player any more I have no ideal if they are in good working order. Thank you for your comment and have a blessed day

      Like

  7. I am not knowledgeable on this subject, but know someone who is. I think I would make an itemized inventory of these books. Books are precious, I would handle them with care.

    Like

  8. Hope you will share your list once its up, or if you decide to post the list in batches. I agree with the suggestions offered here. I do wish I Iived there. But if you do share your list and there’s anything worth buying from my end I might ask family living in the US to help. Looking forward to your inventory.

    Like

  9. I’m writing on this site because I couldn’t get my comment or “LIKE” to stay on your post today. The letter by your 1st grader was wonderful and I’m so glad you found it.

    Like

    • I do appreciate you reading and all of your comments and yes I also am glade. He came up from Houston because of my heart attack and so he was able to read it again also. In fact he wanted to take it back home with him so that is 17 and 13 year old can read it. Have a blessed day and may God bless you as he has done for me. Jim

      Like

  10. Sadly, old books don’t bring a lot of money, which is a shame as they are a work of art in my opinion.. But as others have said, research them to see if any are worth anything.. and maybe some of the reference books might be donated to a related organisation.. eg.. medical books to a hospital museum? Parting with books is so hard.. but you do sometimes have to clear the space around you.. Good luck with it

    Like

Thank you for your comment

