Should I get involved at Church?

For years my way of thinking was the church was there for me to go and get revived, to worship with music and the preaching. I was just taking up space in the pew watching other people do all the work in the church, like the ushers, greeters, choir, Sunday school teacher etc. Did you know that when you accept Jesus Christ as your Lord that he gives you a gift? Well he does and it is not the same gift for everyone, it could be prophecy, service, teaching, or several others.

The church is not the building that you go to but is the people who meet in that building and it is called the church body. Think of it this way your body and it consist of many parts the head, ears, eyes, arms, legs, and so on. Sure there are people who have lost some of their body parts and they know how hard it is to get along or around without these parts. That is the way the church is without your help at the building we call church. Romans Chapter 12 talks to us (me) about what we should do towards other believers and the whole church body.

[My input]

Dedicated Service

12 Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worshipAnd do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good andacceptable and perfect.

For through the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think more highly of himself [In other words it is not all about you or me] than he ought to think; but to think so as to have sound judgment, as God has allotted to each a measure of faith. For just as we have many members in one body and all the members do not have the same function, so we, who are many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another. Since we have gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, each of us is to exercise them accordingly: if prophecy, according to the proportion of his faith; if service, in his serving; or he who teaches, in his teaching; or he who exhorts, in his exhortation; he who gives, with liberality; he who leads, with diligence; he who shows mercy, with cheerfulness.

Let love be without hypocrisy. Abhor what is evil; [Hate what is evil and stay away from it] cling to what is good. 10 Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference[Give them recognition for the good things they have done] to one another in honor; 11 not lagging behind in diligence, fervent in spirit, serving the Lord;12 rejoicing in hope, persevering in tribulation, devoted to prayer, 13 contributing to the needs of the saints, practicing hospitality.

14 Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse.[I know it is hard to do but by doing this you might just win them over.] 15 Rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep. 16 Be of the same mind toward one another; do not be haughty in mind, but associate with the lowly. Do not be wise in your own estimation. 17 Never pay back evil for evil to anyone. Respect what is right in the sight of all men. 18 If possible, so far as it depends on you, be at peace with all men. 19 Never take your own revenge, [I know it is hard for we always want to get back at someone but when we do we are just as bad as they are.] beloved, but leave room for the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is Mine, I will repay,” says the Lord. 20 “But if your enemy is hungry, feed him, and if he is thirsty, give him a drink; for in so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” 21 Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

15 thoughts on “Should I get involved at Church?

  1. Amen. I totally agree with you. After being saved and getting our spiritual feet wet, we shouldn’t just stop at sunday service. After being saved and learning what GOD wants from us, we should all be eager to give back to someone else. GOD loves when we plant seeds in other people hearts and no matter who big or how small the seed planted GOD will take over once we have done our job and make that seed grow into something beautiful. I was a drug addict and now have been clean for 1 year and 9 months all thanks to my lord and savior but I thank HIM daily for the wonderful people HE has put into my life and they knew it or not at the time they were extremely helpful in my recovery. We the church body need to keep in mind we are affecting peoples lives whether we know it or not.

    Like

    • Thank you my brother in Christ, and yes every step we take some one is watching, and we need to stay alert to that fact, and even though we belong to are Lord we are only human and not perfect but the ones watching do not know this so we are judged by them and that is why we do not want to let our guard down. Congratulation on your 1 year and 9 months and remember we can do all things through Him to strengthens us.

      Like

  2. Quote: “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good”. A thought and deed much needed in today’s society overcome by short-lived sensations, blame games, pursuit of wealth and power…and yet the greatest power one can have is in saying a prayer, thanking the Lord for our lives and the good it brings us, understanding with patience the evil it throws, praying for strength to fight the evil…

    Like

  3. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Like

    • I do thank you for this nomination and I do thank you for reading and comments but I humbly feel that I am not worthy of such award. I just right what is on my hart and what I feel God wants me to say so please do not be offended by me not applying. My you have a blessed day.

      Like

  4. The church is not a building… but it does own many of them. | Saunsea

Thank you for your comment

