Scouting the early years

When the twins were in the first grade we decided to get them involved with scouts. Poor Charlotte she was already involved with our daughter in brownies and doing a great job with it, but now the twins are big enough to get into scouts. We checked around and found a Cub Scout pack that met up at the grade school so we signed them up. Now she is not only a Girl Scout leader for CeAnne she is also a den mother for the twins. It seemed like we always had a group of

kids over at the house. This is where are Suburban started coming in handy I remember one Christmas season Charlotte wanted to take her girls Christmas caroling and it was snowing fairly hard outside, I asked her if she wanted to cancel the caroling for that night but she said she would like to still take them and that the kids would enjoy it. I would not let her drive in the snow so we loaded up the twins and of course Ce, after all it was her scout group. We drove carefully around and picked up each girl and then headed for the neighborhood that they were going to sing in, the girls had a ballast singing in the snow and they were sweet to let the two boys go with them.

This has always had me a little upset but I tried not to make a big deal out of it. The Cub Scout pack was going to have a pine wood derby race so the boys got their car kit, now we were told that the boys were supposed to build the cars themselves, but that the dads or in some cases the moms could cut out the initial outline of the car. So I let the boys draw the outline on the block of pine wood and to draw it the way wanted the car to look like, thin I cut off the excess wood and told them it was now up to them to finish it, so they sanded, thin painted their cars thin I did help them put on the wheels, and add the wait because the cars could only weigh a certain amount. I talked with them and said that

Cub Scouts watch three pinewood derby cars sta...

winning was not everything but to just have fun and show good sportsman ship whether they won or lost. Well it came the big night for the car race, we got up to the school where the race was being held and there was excitement in the air, all the boys were showing off their cars, I looked at those cars and thin looked at my boys cars and there was a big difference in the way they looked, I could tell that most of the cars were made by the dads for there was no way the boys at this age could build them that way. My boys asked me why the other kid’s cars looked so good and went so fast down the track and so I explained it to them and I told them the most important thing is to have fun no matter what and that I was very proud of them for what they had accomplished with their cars.

I remember one summer Charlotte was taking her Girl Scout troop down to Palo Duro State Park for a weekend campout. The girls were to sleep in tents and cook out on campfires and all that fun camping, roughing it type stuff, of course me and boys can’t stay in their camp so I brought down the rough and tough cab over camper (boy did I have it rough). The girls went hiking and let the twins go with them Charlotte and I stayed behind to plan the next day’s activities, the sun was getting low and the shadows of the canyon was starting to surround us so the girls came back to camp. They got the camp fire lit and

Palo Duro Canyon State Park

Palo Duro Canyon State Park (Photo credit: NixBC)

supper on the fire, while it was cooking they set around and sung campfire songs, after supper they set around telling stories are whatever girls that age talk about, I tried to stay out of the picture as much as possible. The next morning one of the girls came up to the camper and knocked on the door and when I answered the door she asked me if she could plug-in her curling iron so she could curl her hair, it kind struck me odd for they were supposed be roughing it and yet she was worried about her hair. I had to tell her that I was in a camp site without electricity and therefore she could not plug it in, so being the scout she was she hiked to the bathroom for the camping area and plugged it in there.

4 thoughts on “Scouting the early years

  1. Scouting with my Boys – harbin77

  2. Scouting with the Boys Part two – harbin77

  3. Scouting with the Boys Part Three – harbin77

  4. Scouting with my Boys Part Four – harbin77

Thank you for your comment

