While looking for a Relative.

While I was looking for one of my older relative I discovered something that I did not know. This story started out with my wife bringing me a picture of a couple and asking me who it was? I did not know who it might be and all of my aunts, and uncles have passed away. My folks and my two sisterUnknown couples have also passed. This makes doing genealogy work very hard. I posted the picture on my Facebook page to see if any of my cousins might recognize them.
While I was checking on Facebook my wife got on ancestry.com and was searching on the military part seance the man was in uniform. She found one of my uncles but he was Army and the man in the picture was Navy, I believe his uniform is WWII.
We still do not know who the couple is for while Charlotte was looking at the different records and spotted one that said Harbin and that he was aboard the USS Monticello. Well she knew who that was for he was setting right there in the room with her. She told me about it so of course I looked it up on my computer and started reminiscing for it was a cruse book called USS Monticello 1970. I never knew this book existed. I left the ship in August of 1970. When I went up to the Captain to have my discharge papers signed, he told me that if I would re up that he would promote me to EN2 rank. I had already taken the exam for that rank but seance I was getting out I did not Jim EN 2think any more about it. Any way while I was looking through the book I saw My picture and it had me listed as an EN2. I was surprised for on my discharge papers I am listed as a EN3. Oh well maybe that just meant that I had passed my exam.
The book is located at this address.
Related articles
10 thoughts on “While looking for a Relative.

    • Yes there is no telling. I would not have been an EN2 pay grade long enough to make any difference before I was discharged. I thought it was just interesting. Have a blessed day. Jim

  1. I found out through ancestry.com that my dad committed suicide when I was six. He had been an Air Force pilot during the Korean War and I had always been told that he had died in that war. Imagine finding out something like that when you’re 57! After finding that tidbit, I went searching on both sides of the family for more tidbits, and man did I find them. Lies, lies, and more lies. And that from devout Mormons and Catholics. Sheesh! Glad I got rid of all of them in 1993.

    • Such a sad story and I am sorry for the loss of your dad. I have bee finding out all kind of good and bad stuff on my relatives while working on my genealogy. Thank you for reading and have a blessed day. Jim

Thank you for your comment

