Remembering the old girl and I was sad to see her go.

The grand kids asked me the other day about my Navy days.  After telling them and showing some pictures of the USS Monticello it brought backOne of our Mark 11 some good and some sad memories from when I was aboard her. I was an engineman while on board the Monticello, one of my duties was to go on one of the four small boats. We had two Mark 11 and two VP that was carried on board.

She was commissioned in March of 1957. I did not board her until October of 1968. Even though I was only on board for almost two years I did enjoy my time on her. Even though I missed my family while we were deployed I was able to have my wife with me some ofballast_down_tug well_deck_ops the time. I have some pictures of when the ship was ballast down and took a tug boat in side the well deck. We also loaded 3 Jets on board with our cranes, two went in the well deck and one on the helo deck to be delivered back overseas. Also I got a helo_vietnampicture of a helo landing while we were off the coast of Vietnam. As you can see in one picture we had loaded some troops and their equipment on board whichphantom_helodeck Tug boat in well deck LSD35 tears up the wood in the well deck.

 

 

The Monticello spent three months in dry dock at the Bremerton Washington Navel ship yard. While there we received brand new wood in the well deck. So before we loaded aSwim call in the well deckny more Troops in well decktroops we had a swim party where we ballast down, opened the stern gate took on about twelve feet of water then closed the gate.

Our ship held around 350 crew and could haul What a sleeping quater looks like350 troops plus all of their equipment. I have one picture that shows how close the sleeping bunks were.

 

While refueling out at sea our ship was sucked into the refueling ship and their gun turret ripped us open above the water line thank goodness. I Monticello LSD 35 after collision at sea USS_Cacapon_(AO-529_refueling_Tripoli_(LPH-10)_and_Monticello_(LSD-35)_1967had found this picture taken from the USS Kawishiwi AO 146 which is the ship we collided with. The other picture is of the USS Monticello and The USS Tripoli being refueled at the same time.

The Monticello was decommissioned in 1997 where she was towed out used for target practices and sunk. She will always be in my memory. I know my two youngest grand kids wanted to go see her and go on board her but I had to tell them that it has been sunk and that they can only see her in my pictures.

I have some pictures where the Monticello looks necked from being stripped. I have also add two URL that will show what was done to sink her and to show her finial resting place.

Mo boat being stripped down. Monticello before she was sent to the bottom of the ocean. Monticello being fired upon to be sunk.

http://www.ussmonticello.com/rimpac_2010.htm

http://www.ussmonticello.com/MoBoat%20location.pdf

 

 

19 thoughts on “Remembering the old girl and I was sad to see her go.

  1. That’s sad. I’m sorry she’s gone. I have to admit, I don’t know how you could have slept in those bunks. I don’t know how you could have fit anyone in one of them, let alone have someone turn over. Talk about claustrophobia. She was beautiful and it’s to bad the kids can’t see her. I’m glad you have wonderful memories of her, as well as photographs.

    • Thank you. It was a neat ship and all of the Officers and crew got along so well. So that made being so cramped in our sleeping quarters a lot better. Plus I can remember as if it was yesterday the day I was setting in the boat shop and I received the message from the Red Cross that I had a daughter. Have a blessed day. Jim

  2. Thank you for sharing your story with everyone. She endured a lot and you have much to be proud of. Will you be posting the other photos?

    • I may show a few more that I have, but the biggest majority of them or in slide form. The ones I have shown I had to take the slides to Walmart photo hand have them converted to a compact disk and have regular pictures made of them. If you would like to see a lot more you can go to ussmonticello.com and thin click on photos. There you can not only see the photos I submetted but several of the other men did also. Thank you for reading and your comment. Jim

    • You know they did have a good time. I was on duty during this time and did not get to swim. Well that’s the way it goes some times. have a blessed day. Jim ;)

    • To be honest I do not know. I heard that it was going to be a reef but I do not know if it is where people can dive around it. Thank you for reading. Have a blessed day. Jim

  3. Mess cooking duty on the USS Monticello – harbin77

  4. Watching a ship be decommissioned is a sad thing.
    On the other hand, I sang the National Anthem for the commissioning of the U.S.S. Essex in 1992….and it was a joy watching everything come alive!!

    • I bet that was a sight to see and I would have love to have heard you sing the National Anthem. I guess the closest I ever came to seeing a ship come alive was when my ship came out of dry dock. Hope you have a blessed day and week. Jim

  5. Ships can be like that. There is an 70-year old, 50′ wooden salmon troller which I had the pleasure of crewing between the Olympic Peninsula and Icy Strait, Alaska. For me, she was a warm and comfortable good old girl. Her owner may have had other thoughts.

Thank you for your comment

